Skip to main content



Address: Russia, 119071, Moscow, Leninskij prosp., 33 

Phone: 8 (495) 952-20-88


Headed by Andrey V.Tchabovsky, Dr. Biol. Sci. 

Led by Doctor of Biological Sciences S.A. Shilova, the Group for Tropical Population Ecology was established in 1989 at the initiative of Academician V.E. Sokolov.  In 1992 it was renamed as Group for Population Ecology, and in 2006 was reorganized as a Laboratory. Since 2009, the Laboratory has been headed by A.V. Chabovsky.

Subjects of research include: Factors and mechanisms of animal population dynamics and communities; Ecological, population and genetic aspects of intraspecies differentiation and divergence; Evolution of life cycles and reproductive strategies: physiological, behavioral, and ecological bases; Ecological aspects of the evolution of parasite-host systems. Methodological approaches combine long-term studies of populations and communities in diverse landscapes under changing conditions with laboratory and field experiments. Long-term individuallybased studies are particularly useful, as they permit the life history of specific animals to be followed. 

 Among recent studies carried out by Laboratory staff are: Effects of climate and human-caused landscape changes on life cycles and population and community dynamics of small mammals and birds; Mechanisms of population and community elasticity and sustainability in a changing environment; Role of physical-geographical, ecological and population barriers and random processes in intraspecies structuring; Cytogenetic mechanisms of hybridization, isolation, and divergence in intraspecies forms; Physiological and immune mechanisms in reproductive strategies, and population dynamics; Factors and conditions determining reproductive decisions, reproductive success, and fates of individuals.

Чабовский Андрей Всеволодович Заведующий лабораторией, главный научный сотрудник д.б.н.
Сунцов Виктор Васильевич Ведущий научный сотрудник д.б.н.
Щипанов Николай Александрович Главный научный сотрудник д.б.н.
Бурский Олег Владиславович Ведущий научный сотрудник д.б.н.
Роговин Константин Александрович Ведущий научный сотрудник д.б.н.  
Неронов Владимир Валерьевич Научный сотрудник к.б.н.
Демидова Екатерина Юрьевна Научный сотрудник к.б.н.
Шекарова Ольга Николаевна Научный сотрудник к.б.н.
Батова Ольга Николаевна Научный сотрудник к.б.н.
Александров Дмитрий Юрьевич Ведущий инженер к.б.н.
Калинин Алексей Андреевич Старший научный сотрудник к.б.н.
Шефтель Борис Ильич Старший научный сотрудник к.б.н.
Васильева Нина Александровна Старший научный сотрудник к.б.н.
Павлова Светлана Владимировна Старший научный сотрудник к.б.н.
Савинецкая Людмила Евгеньевна Научный сотрудник  
Суркова Елена Николаевна Младший научный сотрудник  
Артамонов Артем Вячеславович Младший научный сотрудник