Skip to main content



Address: Russia, 119071, Moscow, Leninskij prosp., 33 

Phone: 8 (499) 135-18-78

                   135-18-74 (T.A.Britayev)


Headed by Temir A. Britayev, Dr. Biol. Sci.


Laboratory dates back to 1893, when Academician A.O. Kovalevskiy founded a laboratory specifically for zoology. In the ensuing years the Lab was led by well-known zoologists Academicians V.V. Zalenskiy and N.V. Nasonov. In 1925 it was reorganized as the Laboratory of Experimental Zoology and Morphology, the Morphology Department of which was situated in Leningrad and headed by Professor D.M. Fedotov. In 1935 this Department became a division of the newly-founded Institute of Evolutionary Morphology and Paleozoology in Moscow, and from 1936, a separate Laboratory of Invertebrate Morphology. Main subjects of scientific research were evolution and phylogenetic studies. Beginning in 1966 the Laboratory was led by Corresponding Member of the USSR Academy of sciences G.A. Viktorov, and in 1967 it was renamed the Laboratory of Invertebrate Morphology and Ecology. At that time entomology was the main focus. In 1974 Professor V.A. Sveshnikov became Chief of the Lab. In 1984 it was renamed the Laboratory of Aquatic Invertebrate Morphology and Ecology, and from 1992 has been known as the Laboratory of Marine Invertebrate Morphology and Ecology. Since 1999 the Laboratory has been headed by Professor-Doctor T.A. Britayev. 

Laboratory staff. 2011.


Professor V.A. Sveshnikov

Professor-Doctor T.A. Britayev.

Current main research areas are: effect of biotic and abiotic factors on the structure and dynamics of marine symbiotic communities; biodiversity and systematics of polychaetes, mollusks, crustaceans and echinoderms and other marine invertebrates; phylogeny and morphological evolution of marine gastropods; long-term dynamics of coastal benthic ecosystems of the Barents Sea; long-term and seasonal dynamics of mangrove ecosystems in Vietnam; and biodiversity of marine invertebrates in the shallow water zone of the South China Sea.

Бритаев Темир Аланович Заведующий лабораторией  д.б.н.  Главный научный сотрудник 
Исаева Валерия Васильевна Ведущий научный сотрудник  д.б.н. Профессор
Кантор Юрий Израилевич Ведущий научный сотрудник  д.б.н.  
Мехова Елена Сергеевна Научный сотрудник  к.б.н.  
Федосов Александр Эрнестович Научный сотрудник к.б.н.  
Аксюк Татьяна Сергеевна Ведущий инженер    
Антохина Татьяна Игоревна Ведущий инженер    
Зайцева Наталья Александровна Инженер    
Звонарева Софья Сергеевна Младший научный сотрудник    к.б.н.  
Деарт Юрий Владимирович Младший научный сотрудник    
Косьян  Алиса Рубеновна Научный сотрудник  к.б.н.